Content ID

333335

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

UKRAINE-CRISIS/

Ukraine leader says his forces recapture towns and villages in big eastern push

KYIV, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Ukrainian leader Volodymyr Zelenskiy spoke of "good news" on the battlefields of eastern Ukraine, saying his army had retaken some towns and villages from Russia in what open source analysts said looked like a deep and sudden thrust behind Russian lines.

ISRAEL-PALESTINIANS/VIOLENCE

Israel rebuffs U.S. call for West Bank tactics review

JERUSALEM, Sept 7 (Reuters) - Israel signalled opposition on Wednesday to U.S. calls to review rules of engagement in the occupied West Bank as it pressed on with a near-daily series of operations against militants in the area in which dozens of Palestinians have been killed.

U.S.

MEMPHIS-SHOOTING/

Memphis police say four dead after 19-year old's shooting spree

Sept 8 (Reuters) - Four people were dead and three wounded after a 19-year old man went on a shooting spree in Memphis, Tennessee, the city's police department said in a media briefing early on Thursday.

SOUTHKOREA-USA/NORTHKOREA

U.S., S.Korea revive talks on 'comprehensive' ways to deter N.Korea

SEOUL, Sept 8 (Reuters) - American and South Korean officials will meet next week to discuss "comprehensive measures" to deter North Korea, Seoul said on Thursday, as the two sides revive high-level deterrence talks for the first time since 2018.

BUSINESS

CHINA-AUTOS/TESLA

Tesla triples deliveries of China-made cars after upgrade in Shanghai plant

SHANGHAI, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Tesla sold 76,965 Chinese-made vehicles in August, nearly triple its sales from a month ago, as it quickened deliveries after ramping up output at its Shanghai plant.

APPLE-EVENT/

Apple offers adventure watch, satellite SOS iPhone — and steady prices

Sept 7 (Reuters) - Apple Inc on Wednesday avoided price hikes of its best-selling iPhones during its biggest product launch of the year, focusing on safety upgrades rather than flashy new technical specs with the exception of a new adventure-focused watch.

ENTERTAINMENT

AMAZON-LORD OF THE RINGS/

'Rings of Power' calls out racism against cast members of color

Sept 7 (Reuters) - After an inundation of racist attacks, Amazon Prime Video’s “Lord of the Rings: Rings of Power” has released a statement on Twitter expressing that they refuse to ignore or tolerate the “racism, threats, harassment, and abuse” that some of their castmates of color face daily.

FILM-TICKET TO PARADISE/PREMIERE-INTERVIEWS

George Clooney, Julia Roberts reunite for their first rom-com together

LONDON, Sept 7 (Reuters) - Oscar winners George Clooney and Julia Roberts reunite on the big screen in "Ticket to Paradise", their first romantic comedy together, portraying a bickering divorced couple.

SPORTS

TENNIS-USOPEN/

Alcaraz wins late-night thriller over Sinner to reach U.S. Open semis

NEW YORK, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Carlos Alcaraz saved a match point in the fourth set before digging deep in the decider to beat Jannik Sinner in a five-set thriller and reach the U.S. Open semi-finals in the early hours of Thursday in New York.

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-AJA-RFC/

Ajax shine in Champions League despite high-profile departures

AMSTERDAM, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Ajax Amsterdam are showing no ill effects from the sale of several key players in the off-season, as well as the departure of coach Erik ten Hag, as they began their Champions League campaign in style with a 4-0 home win over Rangers.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-COMPANIES/DIRECTORS-WOMEN (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

ANALYSIS-Women's U.S. boardroom gains slow as diversity focus shifts

A push to get more women on U.S. boards has slowed this year, raising concern among recruiters that some firms may have 'ticked the gender box' by hitting minimum levels of female representation or moved on to focus on other diversity issues.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

US-ELECTION/VOTES

How America casts and counts its votes

Misinformation online and false claims of election fraud by former President Donald Trump and his allies have sharply eroded public trust in the integrity of U.S. elections. How Americans vote — and the equipment they use — varies widely, and some methods are more vulnerable to efforts to shake that trust.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-ABORTION/SOUTH CAROLINA (PIX)

South Carolina Senate to vote on abortion ban

South Carolina's Senate is expected to vote on Thursday on a proposed abortion ban that lacks exceptions for incest and rape but includes an exemption for when the life of the mother is at risk.

8 Sep 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CANADA-POLITICS/

Canada PM Trudeau speaks to reporters after cabinet retreat

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau speaks to reporters after cabinet retreat.

8 Sep 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

EU-NETHERLANDS/VONDERLEYEN (TV)

EU's Von Der Leyen and Dutch PM Rutte discuss recovery plan

European Commission chief Ursula von der Leyen meets Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte in Rotterdam to discuss the Dutch recovery plan, under which the Netherlands is entitled to 4.7 billion euros in EU grants.

8 Sep 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-BIDEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Biden attends Democratic National Committee event

U.S. President Joe Biden travels to National Harbor, Md., to attend Democratic National Committee event.

8 Sep 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

SWEDEN-ELECTION/PREVIEW

PREVIEW-Swedish voters weigh options as war and energy crisis overshadow election

The energy crisis and the war in Ukraine could help secure Social Democrat Prime Minister Magdalena Andersson a second term in office if Swedes vote for a safe pair of hands in Sunday's election.

9 Sep

ECUADOR-POLITICS/ (PIX)

Ecuador's government on ongoing negotiations with indigenous groups

Ecuador's government will speak to Reuters about ongoing negotiations with indigenous groups and whether it is bracing for renewed anti-government protests later this year.

9 Sep

USA-BIDEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Biden attends Ohio groundbreaking at future site of Intel plants

U.S. President Joe Biden President Biden attends groundbreaking at future site of two Intel microchip manufacturing plants in Columbus, Ohio, area.

9 Sep

USA-TRUMP/DOCUMENTS

Deadline for prosecutors, Trump lawyers to suggest special master in documents case

A federal judge has given the U.S. Justice Department and Donald Trump's lawyers until Friday to come up with a list of potential candidates to serve as a special master to review records the FBI seized from the former president's Florida estate.

9 Sep

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-CLIMATE/ETHANOL (GRAPHIC)

SPECIAL REPORT-How U.S. regulators allowed ethanol plants to pollute more than oil refineries

In 2007, the U.S. Congress mandated the blending of biofuels such as corn-based ethanol into gasoline. One of the goals: reducing greenhouse-gas emissions.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INFLATION

Mexico-Inflation Final

8 Sep 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

JAPAN-YEN/INVESTORS

Yen's precipitous slide too far for some funds

The precipitous slide in Japan's currency has run so far and fast it's spooking big investors, and some are cutting bets it will decline further, anticipating policymakers may soon step in to arrest the freefall.

8 Sep 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ECB-POLICY/ (PIX)

ECB to raise rates again

The European Central Bank will raise interest rates again to fight runaway inflation and the only question is just how big its move will be with a large and an even larger hike debated by poilcymakers.

8 Sep 08:15 ET / 12:15 GMT

INDIA-REDEVELOPMENT/DELHI (PIX) (TV)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurates the Central Vista Avenue

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to inaugurate New Delhi's revamped Central vista avenue, throwing it open to the general public.

8 Sep 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-SEC/AGENDA

U.S. SEC officials to showcase agency enforcement, rulemaking priorities

The head of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) alongside the comissioners and division directors will spell out the agenda moving forward at an annual SEC Speaks gathering.

8 Sep 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-FED/POWELL (TV)

Federal Reserve Chair Powell participates in discussion at Cato Institute

Federal Reserve Chair Jerome Powell participates in discussion before virtual Cato Institute 40th Annual Monetary Conference: "The State of Monetary Policy After 40 Years."

8 Sep 09:10 ET / 13:10 GMT

USA-TREASURY/ANNOUNCEMENT

US Treasury announces sales: 3- & 6-month bills; 3-, 10-year notes, 30-year bonds

8 Sep 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

USA-USDA/MEATTRADE

USDA issues Livestock and Meat International Trade data for July

USDA issues Livestock and Meat Trade International Trade data for July.

8 Sep 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

CANADA-CENBANK/

Bank of Canada's Rogers to deliver a speech

Bank of Canada Senior Deputy Governor Carolyn Rogers will deliver a speech.

8 Sep 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

SWISS-SNB/

Swiss National Bank Chairman Thomas Jordan speaks at conference

Swiss National Bank Chairman Thomas Jordan speaks at conference organised by Swiss newspaper Finanz und Wirtschaft in Zurich

8 Sep 11:45 ET / 15:45 GMT

USA-FED/EVANS

Chicago Federal Reserve Bank President Evans speaks on economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago President Charles Evans speaks on current economic conditions or monetary policy before the College of DuPage Economic Forum, in Glen Ellyn, Ill.

8 Sep 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

GLOBAL-EMERGING/FLOWS-IIF

Emerging market foreign flows for August

Following the longest monthly streak of outflows on record, the IIF will publish its flows data for August. Foreigners pulled nearly $10 billion from accounts in July for a fifth straight month of outflows.

8 Sep 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

USA-ECONOMY/YELLEN (TV)

Yellen travels to Detroit to deliver remarks on economy

U.S. Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen travels to Detroit to tout the Biden administration's recent legislative accomplishments, including investments in green energy, healthcare, semiconductors and infrastructure as boosting the U.S. economy's productive capacity.

8 Sep 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

INVESTMENT-MUTUALFUNDS/LIPPER

Lipper reports weekly U.S. fund flows

Thomson Reuters Lipper reports weekly sales of mutual funds and exchange-traded funds, showing what changing money flows say about asset allocations, hot and cold sectors, and the varying appeals of regions and industries.

8 Sep 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

UKRAINE-CRISIS/EU-ENERGY (PIX) (TV)

Emergency meeting of EU energy ministers

European Union energy ministers hold an emergency meeting, which is set to tackle soaring costs due to curbed gas supplies from Russia.

9 Sep

VENEZUELA-MINING/GOLD

Venezuela’s wildcat gold miners toil as Maduro tightens grip on sector

A look inside Venezuela's bid to revive its gold mining sector, and the impact that's having on smaller-scale producers, who say they are being forced out by government-backed plants.

9 Sep

CUBA-ECONOMY/DOLLAR (PIX) (TV)

Cubans juggle exchange rates, soaring prices as peso plunges to 30-year low

Three exchange rates and soaring prices have left Cubans looking for dollars facing a complicated math problem that is increasingly impacting daily life on the communist-run island.

9 Sep

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

AFRICA-HEALTH/

WHO Africa brief reporters on COVID-19 and other health topics

Experts from the World Health Organization's Africa office hold online media briefing on COVID-19 and other health topics.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/SCIENCE

COVID SCIENCE-Latest research on the novel coronavirus

Every Monday and Thursday, Reuters will produce a roundup of the latest scientific studies on the novel coronavirus and efforts to find treatments and vaccines for COVID-19, the illness caused by the virus.

8 Sep 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-VENICE/BLONDE (PIX) (TV)

Ana de Armas and Andrew Dominik bring Marilyn Monroe movie 'Blonde' to Venice

Ana de Armas and Andrew Dominik bring their Marilyn Monroe movie 'Blonde' to the Venice Film Festival, where it is vying for the coveted Golden Lion award.

8 Sep 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

AWARDS-MERCURY PRIZE/ (PIX) (TV)

Ceremony reveals the best album of the year

Ceremony reveals the best album of the year as chosen by a panel of music industry experts.

8 Sep 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

FILMFESTIVAL-TORONTO/THE SWIMMERS (PIX) (TV)

The 47th annual Toronto Film Festival kicks off with a screening of ‘The Swimmers’

The 47th annual Toronto Film Festival kicks off with a screening of ‘The Swimmers’ directed by Sally El Hosaini. The drama tells the true story of two sisters who leave war-torn Syria for a new life in Europe and get the chance to fulfil their life-long dream of swimming at the Olympics.

8 Sep 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

SPORTS

SOCCER-EUROPA-ZUR-ARS/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer – Europa League – Zurich v Arsenal

Zurich face Arsenal in the Europa League Group Stage.

8 Sep 12:45 ET / 16:45 GMT

OLYMPICS-IOC/ (TV)

Olympics-IOC Executive Board meeting - news conference

The IOC holds a news conference following day one of its executive board meeting.

8 Sep 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

© Copyright Thomson Reuters 2022. Click For Restrictions - http://about.reuters.com/fulllegal.asp

Read more about
Loading...

Talk in Marketing