You are here

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 p.m. GMT/6 a.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

BRITAIN-EU/

EU wrangles over new Brexit delay sought by May

BRUSSELS (Reuters) - European Union leaders were poised to grant Prime Minister Theresa May a second delay to Britain’s fraught exit at an emergency summit on Wednesday, after arguing over how long and on what terms.

MEXICO-POLITICS/

Mexico president blasted as 'authoritarian' by his former political party

MEXICO CITY (Reuters) - The former political party of Mexican President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador issued a blistering attack against the veteran leftist on Wednesday, accusing him of pushing the country toward authoritarianism.

U.S.

USA-WEATHER/

'Life-threatening' blizzard bears down on north-central U.S.

A powerful April blizzard threatened the north-central part of the United States on Wednesday, as it pushed east across the Rockies and into the Plains states, raising the threat of more flooding in areas still recovering from a deluge last month.

USA-IMMIGRATION-MEXICO-MILITARY/

Pentagon to find places to potentially house up to 5,000 unaccompanied migrant children

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Acting U.S. Defense Secretary Patrick Shanahan has approved a request to identify places to potentially house up to 5,000 unaccompanied migrant children, the Pentagon said on Wednesday.

BUSINESS

USA-TRADE-CHINA/

U.S., China agree to establish trade deal enforcement offices: Mnuchin

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said on Wednesday that U.S.-China trade talks continue to make progress and the two sides have basically settled on a mechanism to police any agreement, including new enforcement offices.

USA-HOUSE-BANKS/

U.S. lawmakers grill bank CEOs on social issues

Chief executives of some of the largest U.S. banks faced off with the House Financial Services committee for the first time since the financial crisis on Wednesday armed with the healthy balance sheets, but lawmakers grilled executives more on social issues than business fundamentals.

ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-KIM-KARDASHIAN/

Kim Kardashian studying to be a lawyer in apprenticeship program

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Reality star Kim Kardashian is studying to be a lawyer, inspired by her success in helping to win the release from U.S. prisons of two women.

FILM-THELIONKING/

Disney's 'Lion King' remake roars to life with new trailer

LONDON (Reuters) - With stunning scenery of Africa and some talking wildlife, Disney dropped its first full length trailer for its realistic-looking remake of “The Lion King” on Wednesday, offering a glimpse of the highly anticipated film.

SPORTS

BASKETBALL-NBA-LAL-LEBRON-MAGIC/

LeBron reportedly stunned by Magic's resignation

Count Los Angeles Lakers star LeBron James among those who were stunned by team president Magic Johnson’s resignation on Tuesday night.

FOOTBALL-NFL-WAS-QUARTERBACKS/

Redskins interviewing several quarterback prospects

At least three more quarterbacks are reportedly visiting this week with the Washington Redskins, who hold the No. 15 pick in this month’s NFL Draft.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

INDONESIA-ELECTION/FAKENEWS (PIX)

Fact-checkers vs. hoax peddlers: a fake news battle quickens ahead Indonesia’s election

Fact-checkers and peddlers of hoaxes are battling over fake news ahead of the election in Indonesia, the world's third-biggest democracy.

11 Apr 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

INDIA-ELECTION/ (PIX) (TV)

India kicks off first of seven phases in general election

India holds a general election in seven stages starting on April 11, where voters in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep will cast their ballots.

11 Apr 22:30 ET / 02:30 GMT

SPAIN-ELECTION/

EXPLAINER: What's next for Spain as elections loom?

Spain's April 28 election is one of its most bitterly fought in decades, with opinion polls showing the result is too close to call and various coalition governments are possible, led by either the left or the right. The story will explain what is at stake, who could win and what the election is fought on.

11 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

POPE-SOUTHSUDAN/

Pope hosts South Sudan's divided leaders in peace retreat

Pope Francis hosts the divided leaders of South Sudan at the Vatican to help them solidify a faltering peace agreement ending the civil war in the world's youngest country. Two-day retreat brings together president, opposition leader and four vice-presidents.

11 Apr

USA-TRUMP/RUSSIA-REDACTIONS (PIX)

EXPLAINER: What could be blacked out in Mueller's report?

U.S. Attorney General William Barr will likely redact sections of U.S. Special Counsel Robert Mueller's report on the inquiry into Russia’s role in the 2016 U.S. election. This piece will explain the aspects of Mueller's probe most likely to be kept secret by Barr.

11 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

JAPAN-SOUTHKOREA/WTO

WTO issues appeal ruling in Japan-Korea dispute over Fukushima-related food

The World Trade Organization's Appellate Body will issue an appeal ruling in a dispute between Japan and South Korea, a year after a WTO dispute panel largely upheld a Japanese complaint against South Korean import bans and additional testing requirements imposed on Japanese seafood because of the 2011 Fukushima nuclear disaster.

11 Apr

SAFRICA-POLITICS/ (PIX) (TV)

In crowded South African township, shack-dwellers ask: "why vote?"

After twenty-five years of unfulfilled promises, South African shack-dweller Johanna Ditsela is disillusioned with the African National Congress (ANC) and may not vote in next month's national election.

11 Apr 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

NORTHKOREA-POLITICS/ (TV)

North Korea holds session of top legislative body

North Korea convenes a session of its legislature, the Supreme People's Assembly, where Kim Jong Un is expected to be recognised as the country's leader in the constitution.

11 Apr

GERMANY-AFD/COAL (PIX)

Fearing Merkel's coal exit, German mining region shifts right

A German far-right party is using a simple message to win over voters in an eastern mining region dreading government plans to phase out coal-powered energy: fossil jobs are more important than the environment.

11 Apr

RUSSIA-BUSINESS/DETENTION (PIX) (TV)

Russian investigators call for U.S. investor to be let out of jail

Russian court hears investigators call for U.S. investor and founder of the Baring Vostok private equity group Michael Calvey to be let out of jail and placed under house arrest instead. Calvey was detained in February on suspicion of fraud.

11 Apr 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

FINLAND-ELECTION/ (TV)

Finland's top candidate for prime minister wants to raise taxes

Poll leader Antti Rinne of the Social Democrats intends to raise taxes to maintain Finland's vast welfare services amid an ageing population if he is elected the next prime minister after general elections on Sunday, he told Reuters in an interview.

11 Apr

AUSTRALIA-ELECTION/

Australian PM to call election

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison visited the country's governor general at his residence in the capital Canberra on Thursday and has a press conference scheduled to announce the date of a general election.

11 Apr

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

SYRIA-ISLAMIC STATE/ (PIX)

Survivors describe the bloody final days in Islamic State's last Syrian enclave

Survivors of the final days of Islamic State's self-declared caliphate have described what they call a "massacre" of people who stayed or were trapped in trenches, tunnels and tents in Baghouz - the last scrap of territory the militants held. U.S.-backed forces captured the area last month.

11 Apr

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

AUSTRIA-CRIME/ (PIX)

Anti-corruption prosecutors hold annual news conference

Austrian prosecutors in charge of economic crimes and corruption hold an annual news conference.

11 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

BRITAIN-GEORGIA/SPEEDBOAT

British speedboat killer Jack Shepherd appears at the Old Bailey after extradition from Georgia

Shepherd, 31, who went on the run last year after being convicted of killing a woman in a speedboat crash on the River Thames has been handed over to UK authorities after being detained in the former Soviet state of Georgia.

11 Apr 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

ALABAMA-EXECUTION/ (PIX)

Alabama to execute Christopher Price, convicted of murdering man

Alabama is scheduled to execute Christopher Price who was convicted of murdering Bill Lynn during a robbery in 1991.

11 Apr

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

MEXICO-ECONOMY/MINUTES

Mexico central bank issues minutes of monetary policy meeting

The central bank will publish minutes from its last monetary policy decision.

11 Apr

GLOBAL-WINE/OIV

World wine production figures from OIV

Paris-based International Organisation of Vine and Wine (OIV) to publish 2018 production figures.

11 Apr

SINGAPORE-AIRPORT/ (PIX) (TV)

Changi Airport's Jewel showcase

Singapore's Changi, the best airport in the world, will showcase its $1.3 billion Jewel complex with shops, dining outlets, an indoor garden and the world's tallest indoor waterfall.

11 Apr 20:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

USA-AMAZON/

Amazon General Counsel David Zapolsky visits Reuters office

David Zapolsky, who oversees Amazon's legal, policy, compliance and regulatory affairs, will speak with Reuters reporters in the Washington office.

11 Apr 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

USA-BANKS/RECESSION

Bank executives struggle with the "R word" as earnings days approach

Top executives of the largest U.S. banks are grappling with how to talk about the slowing economy and its impact on their businesses as they approach earnings season this week, people familiar with their thinking told Reuters. Of particular concern is how to use the word "recession," which has become all but verboten.

11 Apr 01:00 ET / 05:00 GMT

AUSTRALIA-RBA/

RBA Deputy Governor Debelle speaks via video link at ISDA in HK

RBA Deputy Governor Guy Debelle speech to the ISDA 34th Annual General Meeting, Hong Kong (appearance via video conference from Sydney)

11 Apr 22:30 ET / 02:30 GMT

UBER-IPO/

Uber to publish public IPO filing, detailing financials and legal risks

Uber Technologies Inc is expected to file publicly for its initial public offering on Thursday, giving the most detailed breakdown yet of the ride-hailing company's finances and the legal risks it faces.

11 Apr

ALPHABET-GOOGLE/CLOUD

Google Cloud Next conference

Google Cloud hosts its biggest annual product showcase at the Moscone Center.

11 Apr

USA-FED/WILLIAMS

New York Federal Reserve Bank President Williams speaks at housing conference

Federal Reserve Bank of New York President John Williams speaks before the Association for Neighborhood & Housing Development 2019 Annual Conference, in New York.

11 Apr 09:35 ET / 13:35 GMT

NORWAY-HOMESALES/

Norway's new home sales

Norwegian new home sales data for March released

11 Apr 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

WALT DISNEY-STREAMING/ (PIX)

Disney's streaming plan comes into focus

Walt Disney Co unveils its plan to plunge into the streaming media business and take on technology giant Netflix Inc

11 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

PEOPLE-RUSH/LAWSUIT (TV)

Geoffrey Rush hears judgement on defamation case

Geoffrey Rush will find out the results of his lawsuit against News's Corporation's Australian arm.

11 Apr 00:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

SPORTS

GOLF-MASTERS/ (PIX) (TV)

Golf - The Masters

Golf pros compete at the Masters being held at Augusta National Golf Club.

11 Apr 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

RELIGION

RELIGION-EASTER/LAST SUPPER-TECHNOLOGY (PIX) (TV)

Advanced technology sheds light on traditional Last Supper venue

Archaeologists using advanced technologies have shed new light on an ancient Jerusalem hall revered by Christians as the site of Jesus' Last Supper.

11 Apr

© Copyright Thomson Reuters 2019. Click For Restrictions - http://about.reuters.com/fulllegal.asp

Read more about

Talk in Marketing

Most Recent Poll

Will your planting schedule be delayed?