Content ID

333330

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6:00 a.m. GMT/2:00 p.m. SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:00 a.m. GMT/2:00 p.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

UKRAINE-CRISIS/

Russia threatens to stop exporting energy to Europe; Ukraine claims advances in the east

KYIV, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Russian President Vladimir Putin threatened to halt all energy shipments to Europe, if Brussels goes ahead with a proposal to cap the price of Russian gas, in a combative speech declaring Russia would not lose the war in Ukraine.

BRITAIN-ENERGY/

UK PM Liz Truss to set out 'bold' plan to tackle energy crisis

Britain's new Prime Minister Liz Truss will on Thursday set out a "bold plan of action" to support households and businesses with soaring energy bills while also seeking to boost domestic energy supply, her office said.

U.S.

APPLE-EVENT/

Apple offers adventure watch, satellite SOS iPhone — and steady prices

Apple Inc on Wednesday avoided price hikes of its best-selling iPhones during its biggest product launch of the year, focusing on safety upgrades rather than flashy new technical specs with the exception of a new adventure-focused watch.

USA-FED/

Fed officials reluctant to call inflation peak as policy meeting looms

Federal Reserve officials on Wednesday said they still aren't convinced the worst of the U.S. inflation scare has passed, in comments that teed up a continuation of the central bank's aggressive interest rate increases.

BUSINESS

ECB-POLICY/

ECB poised for another big rate hike as inflation soars

FRANKFURT, Sept 8 (Reuters) - The European Central Bank will raise interest rates again on Thursday to fight runaway inflation and, with a big move and a record one under consideration, the only question is by how much.

JAPAN-ECONOMY/GDP

Japan upgrades Q2 GDP as easing COVID curbs lift spending

TOKYO, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Japan's economy grew more than initially reported in the second quarter, as the lifting of local COVID-19 restrictions boosted consumer and business spending.

ENTERTAINMENT

DISNEY-TWITTER/

Disney found 'substantial portion' of Twitter users fake in 2016 -former CEO

Former Disney CEO Bob Iger said on Wednesday the entertainment giant had determined that a "substantial portion" of Twitter's users were "not real" in 2016, when Disney was weighing a purchase of the social network.

AMAZON-LORD OF THE RINGS/

'Rings of Power' calls out racism against cast members of color

After an inundation of racist attacks, Amazon Prime Video’s “Lord of the Rings: Rings of Power” has released a statement on Twitter expressing that they refuse to ignore or tolerate the “racism, threats, harassment, and abuse” that some of their castmates of color face daily.

SPORTS

TENNIS-USOPEN/

Swiatek stops Pegula to reach U.S. Open semis

World number one Iga Swiatek overcame a shaky serving performance to beat American Jessica Pegula 6-3 7-6(4) on Wednesday and reach the semi-finals of the U.S. Open for the first time.

RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-AUS-NZL/

Beale called up as Wallabies go back to the future again

SYDNEY, Sept 8 (Reuters) - Utility back Kurtley Beale was called into the Wallabies squad for next week's Rugby Championship test against the All Blacks on Thursday as coach Dave Rennie continued to look to proven campaigners to supplement younger talent.

UPCOMING

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

OCI-AMMONIA/TEXAS (PIX)

Dutch chemical maker to build ammonia plant on U.S. Gulf Coast

OCI NV, a Dutch fertilizer and chemical maker, on Thursday said it will invest several hundred million dollars in a U.S. plant to convert natural gas to ammonia in the face of skyhigh European gas prices.

8 Sep 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

GLOBAL-ECONOMY/FOOD

U.N. agency FAO releases its latest food price index

U.N. food agency FAO releases its latest monthly global food price index.

8 Sep 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

USA-CLIMATE/ETHANOL (GRAPHIC)

SPECIAL REPORT-How U.S. regulators allowed ethanol plants to pollute more than oil refineries

In 2007, the U.S. Congress mandated the blending of biofuels such as corn-based ethanol into gasoline. One of the goals: reducing greenhouse-gas emissions. But today, U.S. ethanol plants produce more than double the climate-damaging pollution, per gallon of fuel produced, than the nation’s oil refineries, according to a Reuters analysis of federal data.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

MEXICO-ECONOMY/INFLATION

Mexico-Inflation Final

8 Sep 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ECB-POLICY/ (PIX)

ECB to raise rates again

The European Central Bank will raise interest rates again to fight runaway inflation and the only question is just how big its move will be with a large and an even larger hike debated by policymakers.

8 Sep 08:15 ET / 12:15 GMT

INDIA-REDEVELOPMENT/DELHI (PIX) (TV)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurates the Central Vista Avenue

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to inaugurate New Delhi's revamped Central vista avenue, throwing it open to the general public.

8 Sep 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-SEC/AGENDA

U.S. SEC officials to showcase agency enforcement, rulemaking priorities

The head of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) alongside the commissioners and division directors will spell out the agenda moving forward at an annual SEC Speaks gathering.

8 Sep 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-FED/POWELL (TV)

Federal Reserve Chair Powell participates in discussion at Cato Institute

Federal Reserve Chair Jerome Powell participates in discussion before virtual Cato Institute 40th Annual Monetary Conference: "The State of Monetary Policy After 40 Years."

8 Sep 09:10 ET / 13:10 GMT

USA-TREASURY/ANNOUNCEMENT

US Treasury announces sales: 3- & 6-month bills; 3-, 10-year notes, 30-year bonds

8 Sep 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

USA-USDA/MEATTRADE

USDA issues Livestock and Meat International Trade data for July

8 Sep 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

CANADA-CENBANK/

Bank of Canada's Rogers to deliver a speech

Bank of Canada Senior Deputy Governor Carolyn Rogers will deliver a speech.

8 Sep 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

SWISS-SNB/

Swiss National Bank Chairman Thomas Jordan speaks at conference

Swiss National Bank Chairman Thomas Jordan speaks at conference organised by Swiss newspaper Finanz und Wirtschaft in Zurich

8 Sep 11:45 ET / 15:45 GMT

USA-FED/EVANS

Chicago Federal Reserve Bank President Evans speaks on economy

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago President Charles Evans speaks on current economic conditions or monetary policy before the College of DuPage Economic Forum, in Glen Ellyn, Ill.

8 Sep 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-ECONOMY/YELLEN (TV)

Yellen travels to Detroit to deliver remarks on economy

U.S. Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen travels to Detroit to tout the Biden administration's recent legislative accomplishments, including investments in green energy, healthcare, semiconductors and infrastructure as boosting the U.S. economy's productive capacity.

8 Sep 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

INVESTMENT-MUTUALFUNDS/LIPPER

Lipper reports weekly U.S. fund flows

Thomson Reuters Lipper reports weekly sales of mutual funds and exchange-traded funds, showing what changing money flows say about asset allocations, hot and cold sectors, and the varying appeals of regions and industries.

8 Sep 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

CLIMATE-CHANGE/WILDFIRE-EMISSIONS (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

INSIGHT-Why Arctic wildfires are releasing more carbon than ever

With climate change raising Arctic temperatures four times faster than the global average, wildfires are increasingly erupting in the far north – and in 2021 released a record share of greenhouse gasses from the region’s boreal forests and carbon-rich tundra.

8 Sep 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

AFRICA-HEALTH/

WHO Africa brief reporters on COVID-19 and other health topics

Experts from the World Health Organization's Africa office hold online media briefing on COVID-19 and other health topics.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/SCIENCE

COVID SCIENCE-Latest research on the novel coronavirus

Every Monday and Thursday, Reuters will produce a roundup of the latest scientific studies on the novel coronavirus and efforts to find treatments and vaccines for COVID-19, the illness caused by the virus.

8 Sep 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SPORTS

OLYMPICS-IOC/ (PIX) (TV)

Olympics-IOC Executive Board meeting

Day one of the IOC executive board meeting.

8 Sep 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

OLYMPICS-IOC/ (TV)

Olympics-IOC Executive Board meeting - news conference

The IOC holds a news conference following day one of its executive board meeting.

8 Sep 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

SOCCER-EUROPA-ZUR-ARS/REPORT (PIX)

Soccer – Europa League – Zurich v Arsenal

Zurich face Arsenal in the Europa League Group Stage.

8 Sep 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

GHANA-GAMING/ (PIX) (TV)

British-Ghanaian gaming collective offers safe haven for players of diversity

Four years ago, Ghanaian-British gamer Annabel Ashallay-Anthony founded MelaninGamers, a collective of video game enthusiasts dedicated to providing a safe space for gamers of diverse ethnicities, sexual orientations and gender identities to play together without having to fear the racism, misogyny and homophobia that the gaming world is often associated with.

8 Sep 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

FILMFESTIVAL-VENICE/BLONDE (PIX) (TV)

Ana de Armas and Andrew Dominik bring Marilyn Monroe movie 'Blonde' to Venice

Ana de Armas and Andrew Dominik bring their Marilyn Monroe movie 'Blonde' to the Venice Film Festival, where it is vying for the coveted Golden Lion award.

8 Sep 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

AWARDS-MERCURY PRIZE/ (PIX) (TV)

Ceremony reveals the best album of the year

Ceremony reveals the best album of the year as chosen by a panel of music industry experts.

8 Sep 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

FILMFESTIVAL-TORONTO/THE SWIMMERS (PIX) (TV)

The 47th annual Toronto Film Festival kicks off with a screening of ‘The Swimmers’

The 47th annual Toronto Film Festival kicks off with a screening of ‘The Swimmers’ directed by Sally El Hosaini. The drama tells the true story of two sisters who leave war-torn Syria for a new life in Europe and get the chance to fulfil their life-long dream of swimming at the Olympics.

8 Sep 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

USA-COMPANIES/DIRECTORS-WOMEN (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

ANALYSIS-Women's U.S. boardroom gains slow as diversity focus shifts

A push to get more women on U.S. boards has slowed this year, raising concern among recruiters that some firms may have 'ticked the gender box' by hitting minimum levels of female representation or moved on to focus on other diversity issues.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

US-ELECTION/VOTES

How America casts and counts its votes

Misinformation online and false claims of election fraud by former President Donald Trump and his allies have sharply eroded public trust in the integrity of U.S. elections. How Americans vote — and the equipment they use — varies widely, and some methods are more vulnerable to efforts to shake that trust.

8 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

EU-NETHERLANDS/VONDERLEYEN (TV)

EU's Von Der Leyen and Dutch PM Rutte discuss recovery plan

European Commission chief Ursula von der Leyen meets Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte in Rotterdam to discuss the Dutch recovery plan, under which the Netherlands is entitled to 4.7 billion euros in EU grants.

8 Sep 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

USA-ABORTION/SOUTH CAROLINA (PIX)

South Carolina Senate to vote on abortion ban

South Carolina's Senate is expected to vote on Thursday on a proposed abortion ban that lacks exceptions for incest and rape but includes an exemption for when the life of the mother is at risk. The incest and rape exceptions are expected to be the sticking point for some Republican state senators who have said they won't vote for the bill without those carve-outs.

8 Sep 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CANADA-POLITICS/

Canada PM Trudeau speaks to reporters after cabinet retreat

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau speaks to reporters after cabinet retreat.

8 Sep 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

USA-BIDEN/ (PIX) (TV)

Biden attends Democratic National Committee event

U.S. President Joe Biden travels to National Harbor, Md., to attend Democratic National Committee event.

8 Sep 19:00 ET / 23:00 GMT

© Copyright Thomson Reuters 2022. Click For Restrictions - http://about.reuters.com/fulllegal.asp

Read more about
Loading...

Talk in Marketing