Content ID

334953

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6:00 a.m. GMT/2:00 p.m. SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:00 a.m. GMT/2:00 p.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

MALAYSIA-POLITICS/

Malaysia to go to polls on Nov. 19

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 20 (Reuters) - Malaysia will hold a general election on Nov. 19, its election commission said on Thursday, in a contest that the ruling graft-tainted party hopes will strengthen its hold on power.

IRAN-WOMEN/PRISON

Deadly Iran jail fire erupted as police clashed with inmates, sources say

Oct 20 (Reuters) - Two days before a fire ripped through a section of Iran's Evin prison and killed at least eight people, a riot police unit arrived at the compound and began to patrol the corridors, shouting "God is Greatest" and banging batons on cell doors, six sources told Reuters.

U.S.

USA-ELECTION/NEVADA-WASHOE

Pro-Trump conspiracy theorists hound election officials out of office

RENO, Nevada, Oct 19 (Reuters) - Businessman Robert Beadles claimed he had found evidence of widespread voter fraud in the 2020 election. Then he went on the attack, targeting a 48-year-old woman who runs elections in Nevada’s Washoe County.

USA-CRIME/CAPITOL

Georgia man, 80, arrested at U.S. Capitol with guns in his van

Oct 19 (Reuters) - An 80-year-old Georgia man illegally parked on the grounds of the U.S. Capitol in Washington, saying he wanted to deliver documents to the Supreme Court, was arrested on Wednesday after three guns were found in his van, police said.

BUSINESS

TESLA-RESULTS/

Tesla sees 2022 delivery miss, Q3 revenue comes in below forecast

Oct 19 (Reuters) - Tesla Inc said on Wednesday it expected to miss its vehicle delivery target this year, but downplayed concerns about softening demand after its revenue missed Wall Street estimates.

USA-IMMIGRATION/CHILDLABOR-HYUNDAI MOTOR-EXECUTIVE

Korean auto giant Hyundai investigating child labor in its U.S. supply chain

DETROIT, Oct 19 (Reuters) - Hyundai Motor Co, Korea's top automaker, is investigating child labor violations in its U.S. supply chain and plans to "sever ties" with Hyundai suppliers in Alabama found to have relied on underage workers, the company's global chief operating officer Jose Munoz told Reuters on Wednesday.

ENTERTAINMENT

INDIA-JOURNALIST/

India stops Pulitzer-winning journalist from travelling to US

NEW DELHI, Oct 19 (Reuters) - Indian authorities have stopped a photojournalist from boarding a flight to the United States, where she had planned to attend a ceremony to receive a Pulitzer Prize.

USA-RACE/CURRENCY

Hollywood's Anna May Wong to become first Asian American on U.S. currency

Oct 19 (Reuters) - The U.S. Mint will feature an Asian American on its currency for the first time when it issues a coin next week engraved with the image of actress Anna May Wong, who worked in Hollywood during a time of open racism and stereotyping.

SPORTS

SOCCER-ENGLAND-LIV-WHU/

Klopp happy to grind out win over West Ham after Man City euphoria

LIVERPOOL, England, Oct 19 (Reuters) - Liverpool manager Juergen Klopp praised his side's ability to grind out three points against West Ham United on Wednesday as they backed up their weekend victory over Manchester City.

SOCCER-SPAIN-ELC-MAD/REPORT

Real Madrid breeze past rock-bottom Elche

Oct 19 (Reuters) - Federico Valverde, Karim Benzema and Marco Asensio scored to give Real Madrid a comfortable 3-0 win at bottom side Elche in LaLiga on Wednesday and the leaders also had three goals disallowed by VAR for offside in the build-ups.

UPCOMING

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-TRUMP/NEW YORK (PIX)

Trump's company faces criminal tax trial as his legal woes mount

Donald Trump's family company is set to face a criminal trial on tax fraud charges in New York starting next week that could trigger fines and further complicate the real estate firm's ability to do business as the former U.S. president's legal woes mount.

20 Oct 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

CALIFORNIA-FLOPPY DISKS/ (PIX) (TV)

A 1990s relic, floppy disks get second life at California warehouse

It has been two decades since their heyday but one bulk supplier of the iconic 3.5-inch floppy disk used to store data in 1990s says business is still booming.

20 Oct 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

PEOPLE-KEVIN SPACEY/ (PIX) (TV)

Kevin Spacey's civil sex abuse trial draws to a close

Closing arguments are likely in Kevin Spacey's civil trial on a battery claim by Anthony Rapp, who says Spacey made an unwanted sexual advance in 1986 when Rapp was 14.

20 Oct 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

INDONESIA-POLL/

Indonesian pollster to release survey gauging trust on law enforcers in light of soccer stampede and criminal case

The survey will have public trust rate on law enforcers amid reports of excessive use of violence during the soccer stampede earlier this month, and a criminal case involving a senior ex-officer.

20 Oct 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

SENEGAL-RICE/INDIA (PIX) (TV)

Senegal hones its home-grown rice to cut dependence on Asian imports

Senegalese cook Amy Gueye always tries to use imported rice at her family-run restaurant in Dakar, knowing that customers prefer the taste to home-grown varieties. Senegal's rice production has soared in recent years as it seeks to reduce dependence on imports, but the population across West Africa has also risen fast, meaning countries still rely on Asia for supplies, particularly of high-quality produce.

20 Oct 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

CKH HOLDINGS-M&A/TELEFONICA-EU

EU court adviser offers opinion on EU regulators' appeal against lower court rejection of Hutchison merger veto

An adviser to Europe's top court offers a non-binding opinion on EU regulators' appeal against a lower court's rejection of their veto against Hutchison's proposed buy of O2 UK from Spain's Telefonica in 2016, in what the telecoms industry sees as a test case on whether regulators will loosen rules on telco mergers

20 Oct 03:30 ET / 07:30 GMT

BMW-PRODUCTION/

BMW production chief speaks at Leipzig plant on new investments in hydrogen for production, logistics

BMW will hold a media event at its factory in Leipzig to inform media about plans to expand production of electric vehicles at the plant, focusing on the potential of hydrogen as a fuel to power production and logistics. Separate interview with production chief Milan Nedeljkovic to take place in late afternoon CET.

20 Oct 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/VACCINES

Falling demand for Covid-19 boosters puts price hikes on the table

With most Americans delaying or skipping new COVID-19 booster shots, analysts and investors are now predicting far fewer will be given each year, pushing the number of shots well below annual flu vaccinations. With fewer shots needed, vaccine makers including Pfizer Inc, partner BioNTech SE , rival Moderna Inc and Novavax could have to hike prices as much as three times current levels if they hope to meet Wall Street revenue forecasts for the shots for 2023 and beyond, several analysts said.

20 Oct 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

AT&T-RESULTS/

AT&T Reports Third Quarter Results

AT&T is expected to post third quarter results on Thursday. Analysts will look out for any future-looking comments on revenue, profit, price increases and further investments in 5G roll-outs in the face of a glum economy.

20 Oct 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

UKRAINE-CRISIS/INSURANCE (PIX)

Ukraine insurance cost surpass Iraq war levels, industry sources say

As humanitarian workers, journalists and engineers increasingly head to Ukraine, insurers are putting together cover for them, but say it is harder and more expensive to do so than following the Iraq war.

20 Oct 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

PORTUGAL-ECONOMY/WEBSUMMIT

Portugal's Economy Minister, Web Summit CEO hold news conference

Portugal's Economy Minister Antonio Costa Silva and Web Summit's CEO Paddy Cosgrave hold news conference ahead of Europe's largest technology conference, which is scheduled to take place in Lisbon, from Nov. 1-4

20 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

FREEPORT MCMORAN-RESULTS/

Q3 2022 Freeport-McMoRan Inc Earnings Release

Estimated time. Expected before market open (BMO).

20 Oct 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

AMERICAN AIRLINE-RESULTS/ (PIX)

American Airlines expected to report strong third-quarter results

American Airlines is expected to report a quarterly profit on the back of a strong travel demand. But with growing risks of an economic recession sparking worries about travel spending, investors are looking to find out how the carrier plans to offset higher costs and protect profit once consumer demand softens.

20 Oct 09:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

USA-TREASURY/ANNOUNCEMENT

US Treasury announces sales: 3- and 6-month bills; 2-year floating rate notes; 2-, 5- and 7-year notes

US Treasury announces sales: 3- and 6-month bills; 2-year floating rate notes; 2-, 5- and 7-year notes.

20 Oct 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

USA-FED/HARKER

Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on economic outlook

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on the economic outlook before the Greater Vineland Chamber of Commerce, in Pittsgrove, N.J.

20 Oct 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

ASSAI-RESULTS/

Brazil's Assai posts Q3 quarterly results

20 Oct 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-FED/COOK

Federal Reserve Board Governor Cook is panelist in Spartanburg, S.C.

Federal Reserve Board Governor Lisa Cook gives brief introductory remarks before event, "The View from Spartanburg, South Carolina: A Panel Discussion and Listening Session with Local Community and Business Leaders," in Spartanburg, S.C.

20 Oct 12:30 ET / 16:30 GMT

USA-TREASURY/AUCTION

Treasury Dept. sells 5-year TIPS

Treasury Dept. sells 5-year Treasury Inflation-Protected Securities.

20 Oct 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

USA-FED/COOK

(VIA PRE-RECORDED VIDEO) Federal Reserve's Cook speaks at "Exploring Careers in Economics" virtual event

(VIA PRE-RECORDED VIDEO) Federal Reserve Board Governor Lisa Cook participates in moderated discussion on "Diversity and Careers in Economics" before virtual "Exploring Careers in Economics - Fall 2022" event.

20 Oct 13:45 ET / 17:45 GMT

ARGENTINA-TRADEFIGURES/

September trade balance data due for release

Argentine government is due to release September trade balance data

20 Oct 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

ARGENTINA-ACTIVITY/

August economic activity data due

Argentine government due to release August economic data

20 Oct 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

INVESTMENT-MUTUALFUNDS/LIPPER

Lipper reports weekly U.S. fund flows

Thomson Reuters Lipper reports weekly sales of mutual funds and exchange-traded funds, showing what changing money flows say about asset allocations, hot and cold sectors, and the varying appeals of regions and industries.

20 Oct 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

GERMANY-POLITICS/SCHOLZ (PIX) (TV)

Germany's Scholz speaks at lower house of parliament meeting German Chancellor Olaf Scholz addresses the Bundestag lower house of parliament on the EU summit kicking off in Brussels a few hours later.

20 Oct 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

EUROPE-MIGRANTS/GERMANY (PIX) (TV)

German interior minister hosts Western Balkans counterparts German Interior Minister Nancy Faeser hosts a "Berlin Process" meeting in Berlin, with counterparts from the Western Balkan countries. The meeting, which is also expected to include representatives of other European countries such as Britain, France, Slovenia and Croatia, will focus on irregular migration as well as efforts to fight corruption and organized crime.

20 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

EU-SUMMIT/ (PIX) (TV)

EU leaders meet in Brussels

EU leaders meet in Brussels to discuss Ukraine, the energy crisis and economic issues.

20 Oct 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

AFRICA-HEALTH/

Africa CDC, WHO Africa brief reporters on COVID-19 and other health topics Experts from the Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention and the World Health Organization's Africa office hold online media briefings on COVID-19 and other health topics.

20 Oct 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-WEATHER/NOAA

NOAA to issue 2022-2023 U.S. Winter Outlook The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Climate Prediction Center will announce its U.S. temperature and precipitation outlook for winter 2022-23 amid high energy prices and an ongoing war in Ukraine that has disrupted the global fuel supply chain. Meanwhile, persistent drought in the U.S.

20 Oct 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/SCIENCE

COVID SCIENCE-Latest research on the novel coronavirus

Every Monday and Thursday, Reuters will produce a roundup of the latest scientific studies on the novel coronavirus and efforts to find treatments and vaccines for COVID-19, the illness caused by the virus.

20 Oct 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

PEOPLE-HARVEY WEINSTEIN/ (TV)

Jailed Harvey Weinstein back on trial in the home of Hollywood

Harvey Weinstein, currently in jail after his conviction for sex crimes in New York, faces trial on rape and other charges in Los Angeles

20 Oct 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

IRAN-WOMEN/WEST (PIX)

Beyond cutting hair, how can the West support Iran's protesters?

Western actresses and ministers have cut their hair on camera to dramatize their support for Iranian women whose protests have rocked the Islamic Republic since a 22-year-old woman died in the custody of Iran's morality police over a month ago. The performances hint at a deeper reality: beyond voicing support, criticizing abuses and giving protesters digital tools to communicate, Western governments have few policy tools likely to affect events in Iran, officials and analysts said.

20 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SPORTS

SOCCER-WORLDCUP/FANS (PIX) (TV)

Soccer-Destination unknown: Qatar remains mystery for hesitant World Cup fans

The quadrennial World Cup normally hogs football fans' attention months in advance as hundreds of thousands of supporters from across the globe pack their bags for a trip to the sport's biggest extravaganza. However, moving the World Cup from its usual summer dates to the winter period because of high temperatures in the desert state, has significantly limiting travel opportunities to Qatar for a longer period.

20 Oct 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

© Copyright Thomson Reuters 2022. Click For Restrictions - http://about.reuters.com/fulllegal.asp

Read more about
Loading...

Tip of the Day

Driver for electric fence posts is helpful

Fence post driver from Mar '20 AATF I welded a steel cap and handle onto one end of a section of light-duty 1¼-inch angle iron and a footstep onto the other end. This lets me... read more

Talk in Marketing

Most Recent Poll

Will you have enough on-farm storage for harvest?

I just want to see the responses
46% (24 votes)
Yes
37% (19 votes)
No, it’s going to be a bin-buster
8% (4 votes)
Maybe, depending on yields
6% (3 votes)
No, I am looking at new bins or temporary storage
4% (2 votes)
Total votes: 52
Thank you for voting.